As we are part of  an Academy Trust we have a local governing body and also a Trust Board. The Chair of Governors for Birstall Primary Academy also sits on the Trust Board as a representative.

A Message from the Chair of Governors

Choosing the right school is very important as we all want our children to have the best start in life.  Birstall Primary Academy understands this and we have worked hard to ensure that every child has the opportunity to achieve their full potential.  The school offers children an exciting curriculum which they themsleves help to shape, a skilled and dedicated staff team and excellent resources for children to discover learning is enjoyable.

Children at our school have a voice and we act on their suggestions and comments. We are proud of our exciting innovations such as pupils teaching their own lessons, our life skills sessions and our community classes.

We are not a school who rests on its laurels! We are constantly trying to improve and keep improving life chances for our pupils. We were described by OFSTED as being an inclusive school and we  actively promote equality and celebrate diversity.

On behalf of all the governors I would like to encourage you to come and visit our super school and see for yourself our happy and enthusiastic children. I am always available should you wish to speak to me- just contact the school office.

Dan Spencer,  Chair of Governors


The key responsibilities of the governing body are to:

– Ensure the quality of educational provision

– Evaluate pupil outcomes

– Challenge and monitor performance

– Take decisions about personnel management

– Manage financial, physical and human resources

– Raise concerns with the Chief Executive of the Focus-Trust in a timely manner


Membership of the Local Governing Body:

Please follow link for more details:

Focus-Trust Governance Disclosure 2017 -18